What’s an Introvert to Do?

I finally finished a book called “Quiet”.  Since I have always thought of myself as an introvert, yet am never believed when I tell people I am, this book made me realize I was right and so were they!

I can “act” like an extrovert, but find it exhausting. The author does a great job illustrating the seeming contradiction between professions that require extroversion, and introverts doing well in them. My job requires me to be an extrovert a few times a year, for two weeks at a time. Every time I come home exhausted and need to recharge. Now I understand why and can temper these trips with mini breaks to regroup.

The research she did to explain her points was spot on and gave it credibility. I finished it feeling like “I get it!” and “I even get myself!”  Whenever someone questioned my labeling myself “an introvert” I found myself not sure how to back up my perspective. Now I can.

My husband bought me this book for Christmas. He’s also an introvert and found some of the passages I read out loud rang true.

If you feel like a freak: caught between introversion and extroversion, pick this up and say hello to yourself!

Leave a Reply

