Laughter

darth-on-cat (1)Eddie Murphy

Alan Alda, in MASH.

My friend Gwen.

The only way to describe their laughter is you hear it and want to make it happen again.

As I navigate the world of medicine, not wanting to hear things I need to, and have things done to fix things, I realize laughter is freeing and healing. For awhile I forget.  Just for awhile I am normal.

If you can count a snort-producing laugh normal.  Jon Stewart, MASH, Hot in Cleveland, Airplane…

I will keep watching. Keep producing those healing endorphins. And try to face things that aren’t so great, knowing they are temporary and laughter is forever.

Leave a Reply

