Dated July 2007 – A Lifetime, a Marriage, and 3100 miles ago

IMG_3404What the hell was that?

Something quiet
has shifted in me
and gets louder
every morning

What is is
I cannot say

I try and pin it down
and scrambling
it fights back
and runs away
laughing

Home is not here
So
I turn to things
I cannot reach
“Can’t go there”
although my body
screams GO GO GO

At work I am the me
I knew before

Escaping there
only scratches
against my feelings

My reflection
now frightens me

what is this?

(c) JPPeranteau 2015

Leave a Reply

