Left behind

In the business world, my personality allows me to be “businesslike”.  As an introvert who can act the part of the extrovert when needed, I find I need more titanium at times. It can be exhausting having two sides to ones self, but has become necessary.

The people at the company disappointed me.

They verbally offered me a job in July.  Then hemmed and hawed on the paperwork. Fast forward seven months, and to a phone call last week. “We’re going in a different direction.”

I am having trouble compartmentalizing it.  I am too sensitive. I take it personally. Don’t look for personal reasons. It is a waste of time.

“STOP TAKING IT PERSONALLY.”

It was a business decision!

But it really is like someone dying – when you are fired or laid off.

Fact: The company didn’t want me anymore.
Fact: I had not done anything unjust or criminal.
Fact: I over did. I did everything they asked me to and more. I delivered on my promise.  I always have.  I put them on a better track.  The company is in a better place.
Fact: They just let me go. There was no discussion. There was no compromise.
Fact: This is the second time this has happened to me in the last year.

I need to reframe it – From now on, I go in and fix the marketing and leave.  That’s my shtick.  I will always be on the lookout for the next mess to clean up.  I will leave before they ask.

My new marketing strategy.

 

Leave a Reply

